Vacation in Michigan – Expectation Vs. Reality

Standard

Sometimes realizing you’re all grown up (or at least headed that way) is a weeeee bit depressing. 

I recently spent vacation time in Michigan visiting friends and family. The first weekend of my vacation was spent in my college town, Grand Rapids. I spent 3 1/2 years in Grand Rapids, but probably only really appreciated it the last year, when I was able to live in the heart of downtown. It truly is an amazing city and I’d recommend it to anyone….BUT…. sometimes going back isn’t what you remember.

Let me clarify, first, that I had an amazing time with my friends. Cory, Alison, Stephanie, Ashley, James and Lien – it was SO wonderful to see/spend time with/explore/drink/eat/talk/etc. with all.

I went in to the trip ready to visit all the old favorites and the new cool spots that have popped up since my move to NY nearly 3 years ago. 

Expectation:

– My favorite bar from college will still be awesome. It will still be full of the same regulars, even if that means those uber judgmental hipsters eastown kids. The same bartender will serve me. People will know my name. The same hipster music will play throughout the bar. Finding a table won’t be hard; someone we know will end up having the corner booth and we’ll all have a night to remember, drinking those same one-of-a-kind shots as in college.

 

Reality:

– Those that are recognizable have visibly aged and not progressed at all since my last visit. My bartender is off for the night. Only a handful of original staff; many newbies. Club music playing throughout the bar. Mainstream scene. Too busy with people you don’t know and don’t want to hang out with. The change that has happened, not good. Things that should have changed, didn’t. DEPRESSING.

 

Expectation:

– My favorite pizza place from college will be just as good as I remembered it. We MUST have dinner there.

 

Reality:

– What did I like about this stuff? Its sub-par pizza at best. Next.

 

Expectation:

– I will rage with the college kids for “Irish on Ionia” while wearing my least favorite clothing color, green. All in the name of St. Patrick’s Day. And, cuz, yolo.

Reality:

– There are way too many people. Those people are way too drunk. Those girls look like idiots in shorts when its 10F outside. Wow, those people are too old to be so sloppy. Keep me away from the mess. And, cuz, I’m not really going to be caught dead in any shade of green besides mint. 

Expectation: 

– Going out with my college friends, we’ll do shots and stay out until the bar closed. Maybe we’ll make out with randoms (or each other) for “old times sake.” We’ll get cray-cray!!!

Reality:

– After two drinks we’re too tired to deal with the bull shit of the bar and everyone is ready to go home and go to bed. We’re old.

 

 

One can conclude I might be slightly delusional with my “expectations”, but hey… I don’t know. 

Highlights of my trip:
-Dive bar wine with Alison and Cory

Image

Image

-Day with Stephanie… tea at Global Infusion, Haitian food, and GR downtown market

Image
– Dinner and Bar with Ashley, James and Cory

Image

Image
– Brunch with Lien and friends

– Seeing Alanah and baby Paxton

Image

Image
– Seeing my grandparents
– Quality time with mom and dad
– Shenanigans with Andrew

Image

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

